A Few of the Most Frequently Asked Questions About Oregon DUII Laws

Did you know that the average drunk driver has gotten behind the wheel almost 80 times before their first arrest? It’s pretty scary to think about, but if you’re not aware of current Oregon DUII laws, it can be even scarier.

It’s one thing to break the law, but it’s another not to understand the law, especially when it comes to driving under the influence of intoxicants.  So, to make sure you understand the basics of a DUII conviction in Oregon, here are some of the most frequently asked questions, answered for you.

What’s the difference between a DWI, DUI, and DUII?

To put it simply, there is no difference.  All of those abbreviations are variations of the same offense, which is driving under the influence of intoxicants. People frequently refer to it simply as DUI, DWI, or Drunk Driving, but the proper terminology is DUII.

What are the penalties for a DUII charge?

Penalties for this charge vary depending on what county and court you’re in.  If it’s a misdemeanor DUII, your maximum sentence would be up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6,250.  The minimum fine starts at $1,000 and can be up to $6,250.  Jail, court-ordered drug and alcohol treatment, and other fines will also likely be penalties.

What should I do if I’m charged with DUII?

The first thing you need to do is find a DUII lawyer.  The more familiar your attorney is with this type of charge, the better.  The last thing you want is an attorney who doesn’t understand the charges against their client.  But above all else, do not waste any time after being charged.  These cases move quickly, and you need to do the same if you want to avoid as many penalties as possible.