The effect of a sex crime conviction can harm a person’s reputation, personal and professional relationships, and employment opportunities. A sex crime is a very serious offense. The severity of these punishments means it’s important for anyone accused of them to know what they’re up against legally. Educating oneself on the different categories of sex crimes is one of many steps to make sure you avoid harming another altogether. In this blog, we’ll discuss these different crimes and the consequences that come from—read on for more information.
Probably considered one of the least severe sex crimes, indecent exposure still comes with harsh penalties. Intentionally exposing oneself in public is considered indecent exposure, and it can have different titles and consequences depending on the state. Oregon’s laws about indecent exposure mean an individual does one of the following:
- Performs an act of sexual intercourse in public
- Performs an act of deviate sexual intercourse in public
- Exposes their genitals with the intent of arousing their sexual desire in public
Public indecency is considered a Class A misdemeanor in Oregon, which is the most serious misdemeanor in the state. This means public indecency is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $6,250. This crime often comes with a probation period, and the crime will become permanent on your criminal record.
Internet Sex Crimes
As technology becomes a bigger part of society, more and more crimes have some sort of technological aspect to them. Sex crimes are no exception to this, and so Internet sex crimes came to fruition. This means someone uses the Internet to lure or entice a minor to commit a sexual act. For example, an adult logging onto a chat room, grooming a minor to trust them, and then encouraging the minor to meet and perform sexual activity is considered an Internet sex crime. Distributing, selling, or purchasing child pornography is another type of Internet sex crime.
Internet sex crimes against minors are harshly prosecuted and come with major penalties. More specifically, Oregon law defines these crimes as “online sexual corruption”, and this is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $250,000—this is also considered a Class B felony. Someone charged with this will also have to register as a sex offender.
We discussed in a previous blog the different types of prostitution-related crimes—patronizing, promoting, and compelling. In the majority of the U.S., it’s illegal to exchange in sexual acts for money, which is where these crimes come into play. Examples of these crimes include the following:
- Owning or managing a place of prostitution
- Forcing a minor to engage in prostitution
- Offering money to someone to have sex with them
Prostitution crimes come with severe consequences. Promoting prostitution is considered a Class C felony in Oregon, which means you can receive up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $125,000. Compelling prostitution is a Class B felony, which means you could receive up to ten years in prison and fines up to $250,000. Patronizing (sexual solicitation) is the least harsh of the three and is considered a Class A misdemeanor.
This is a broad category that involves a range of indecent sexual conduct involving a child. This crime involves the sexual abuse (touching, fondling, engaging in any sexual conduct) of a child. Every state has their own specific definitions of child molestation, but generally speaking, this includes any sexual interaction between an adult and child. No matter if the child “consented” (consent is not a valid defense because a child is considered unable to give legal consent to a sexual activity), it’s illegal for an adult to touch a child in any lewd manner.
This is one of the most serious sex crimes a person can be accused of. Since children are the victims, the offenses are considered even more heinous than others, which means their penalties are incredibly harsh. The specific crime committed determines the specific penalties, but someone charged with this will face long-time imprisonment, high fines, victim restitution if convicted, and severe personal repercussions. If charged with any sort of child molestation crime, the defendant must register as a sex offender for life.
Another sex crime category that falls into many different forms is sexual assault. This can be defined in different ways, but either way, it comes with severe consequences. In Oregon, sexual abuse usually means touching another’s sexually intimate parts. More specifically, sexual abuse in the first degree, for example, is when a person subjects another person to sexual contact and the victim is: less than 14 years old, subjected to forcible compulsion, or incapable of consent. This is just one type of sexual assault, but all charges result in harsh penalties.
Similar to child molestation, sexual assault penalties depend on the specific crime committed. Nevertheless, these severe charges result in equally severe penalties. For example, the sexual abuse in the first degree we mentioned above is considered a Class B felony, which means up to 10 years in prison and $250,000 in fines. These penalties all depend on the circumstances and the case presented by your Clackamas County sex crime defense attorney.
The final sex crime category we’ll discuss is that of rape, which is also known as aggravated sexual assault. Every state has their own definition of it, but rape is generally defined as forced or non-consensual sexual intercourse. Whether the victim was unconscious, drugged, or unable to give consent, this is considered rape. There are various types of rape, and we briefly describe those below:
- Statutory rape: When an adult has sexual intercourse with a minor, this is considered statutory rape. Although physically forced sexual assault does not technically have to be involved, it’s still considered rape because the victim is under the age of legal consent.
- Spousal rape: Spousal or marital rape is a form of domestic violence and involves the forced sexual intercourse of a spouse by another spouse. Even though the two people are married, the law states that intercourse must still be consensual.
- Date rape: Also called acquaintance rape, this occurs when the perpetrator forces sexual intercourse with a victim they know. This can be a significant other, friend, or general acquaintance. These accusations are often paired with drug and alcohol affecting the ability to provide consent.
Rape consequences are quite severe, with the harshest coming from rape in the first degree. Considered a Class A felony, this is punishable with up to 20 years in prison and a fine up to $375,000. Many rape charges may also fall under Measure 11 crimes, and they will carry even harsher consequences.
If you’ve been accused of any of the aforementioned sex crimes, reach out to a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Jared Justice will help you battle the accusations and give you a better chance of lessening the consequences. Get in contact with him now.