A study conducted by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) revealed 10,874 deaths were linked to drunk driving accidents in 2017. This is a jarring, but it just goes to show how something needs to be done about drunk driving.
While there are many programs that aim to highlight the dangers of driving drunk, Oregon’s DUII diversion program aims to combat repeat DUII offenders.
What is the diversion program?
Oregon’s DUII diversion program is a year-long program with classes on drug use, alcohol use, and sobriety. It is aimed at those who could be convicted of a misdemeanor drunk driving charge. If you complete the diversion program, you will not receive a conviction on your record. This makes it a great option for those who face a first time DUII charge.
Who is eligible for the program?
Your Clackamas County DUII attorney will let you know if you are eligible for the program—at least they should. If they do not, ask. It is important to note that if you have ever been convicted of a felony DUII offense, you will not be eligible for the program.
What are the requirements to complete the program?
In order to complete Oregon’s DUII diversion program, you must first complete an array of items. You will see these below, and depending on how the court decides your case, you may have to complete all of them or just a few.
- You must first plead guilty or no contest to the DUII charge. You cannot challenge any aspect of the case.
- You must pay the $490 diversion fee, restitution, and court-appointed attorney fees (if there are any).
- You must complete an alcohol and drug abuse assessment. You may have to pay the agency that constructs the assessment.
- You must complete a minimum of four sessions over four weeks and 12–20 hours of substance abuse education.
- You must attend a one-day victim impact panel (VIP) and pay the fee ($5 to $50).
- You must avoid using intoxicants, including alcohol and marijuana, during the term of the diversion agreement except for religious reasons and as directed by a valid prescription.
- In most cases, you will have to install an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in all vehicles you operate during the term of the diversion agreement.
Talk to a lawyer
DUII laws are intricate, and drunk driving charges have very serious consequences. If you have been arrested for a DUII in Oregon, immediately contact Jared Justice, a Clackamas County DUII attorney.