How Long Is Your License Suspended After a DUI?
If you have a suspended license in Oregon due to a DUII arrest or conviction, you most likely have questions about how long the suspension will last. DUI lawyer Jared Justice can show you how to get a hardship permit in Oregon (if possible) and give you all the answers you need in a timely manner.
If your license is suspended or revoked by the DMV or the court, the following actions and conditions may be required of you:
- Completion of a drug & alcohol treatment program
- License reinstatement or re-applying for your drivers license
- Without a valid license, driving is not an option without a hardship permit.
- A fee for reinstatement must be paid to the DMV once the suspension or revocation period has ended
- o There may be other requirements as well
It is important to find an attorney familiar with the court where the proceedings will take place. Jared Justice is an experienced Clackamas County DUI lawyer who is very familiar with the local courts.
How Long is your License Suspended for After a DUI?
Every situation is different, but the following information may be helpful
Suspension lengths are increased if any of the following have occurred in Oregon or any other jurisdiction within 5 years prior to the current conviction, refusal, or failure suspension: 1) A DUI conviction, 2) participation in a pre-trial diversion program, or 3) a suspension of driving privileges under Implied Consent law.
Refusing a breath, blood, or urine test results in a one-year suspension, increased to three-years if any of the aforementioned events took place. Failing a breath test will result in a 90-day suspension, increased to one year if the previous actions have occurred. Courts may impose a presumptive fine of $650 if the person refuses to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test. This specific fine (ORS 813.095) and any penalties imposed by the DMV are independent of any other consequences that come along with a DUI conviction.
A person may be suspended for the same offense under both the Implied Consent law and DUI laws. Implied Consent actions are administered through the DMV, so these suspensions are separate from any penalty imposed by a court on the DUI conviction from the same incident. This means that suspension penalties can stack on top of each other, which makes predicting how long your license will be suspended difficult. Jared Justice is a very experienced DUI lawyer who can help you organize a proper response and strategy moving forward.
Disclaimer: Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice. For advice on a legal matter, contact an attorney. Contact Jared Justice at 503-722-3981 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Jared Justice is available to practice anywhere in the state of Oregon. He focuses on practicing in the following State Courts: Clackamas, Multnomah, Yamhill, Marion, and Washington Counties. He also practices in the following Municipal Courts: Lake Oswego, West Linn, Newberg, Canby, McMinnville, Troutdale, Oregon City, Beaverton, Milwaukie, Gladstone, and just about every other court in the Portland area.